Just picked up a copy of the seventh edition of Above & Beyond’s Anjunabeats compilation series, which was released today on Anjunabeats Records. This is one of my favorite trance compilation series ever (right up there with Tiesto’s Magik Armin’s ASOT series), and this latest installment does not fail to deliver. Volumes 1-4 were all single disc CDs, but the last three volumes (5-7) have all been double disc releases. This shows the growth and increasing success of the Anjuna team, which includes the label, the signed producers, all the hard working people who stand behind them, and of course the frontmen: Jono, Paavo, and Tony, better known as Above & Beyond. This year’s release showcases some of the finest new tracks from the Anjuna label, many of which come from long-established artists such as Oliver Smith, Sunny Lax, Nitrous Oxide, Daniel Kandi, and Super 8 & Tab. There are also tracks from newcomers Mat Zo and Cold Blue, both of whom are having outstanding years with numerous great releases. There is also a bonus DVD, titled A Dog With a Smile, which documents life on tour with A&B, and it comes free with the album if you buy a hardcopy. I’ve only listened to it through a few times, but I like what I hear so far. The first CD starts off slower and is more housey, and I like the tracks Milano, To the Six, Cadence, Nuclear Fision, and Anjunabeach. The second CD speeds up the tempo and builds with some really nice progressive tracks, such as Aurora, Irufushi, Callista, and Moon Dust. What I really like about all of these Anjunabeats compilations is that they all have that signature Anjuna feel, with animated basslines, layers upon layers of sounds, and just the right amount of vocals. The mixing for this album is way better than that of volume 6, which ultimately leads to a better flow throughout the album. I’ll post up a more comprehensive review once I get better acquainted with the tracks, but for now.. go get your copy today!

Here is Tony McGuinness’ take on the album:
“In some respects Volume 7 sees Anjunabeats coming into focus. Our tastes have always been catholic and now, with a star-studded roster of incredibly talented artists, we are attracting and releasing a range of top quality records that can fully realise the breadth and ambition of the label. The 2 CD mix covers the full range of what we play as DJs and we’re delighted to have so many new standout tracks from our multi-national, multi-talented and multi-lovely Anjunabeats family”.

Here is the trailer for the DVD:


CD 1-
1. Answer42 feat. Belinda Frank – Pink Houses (Vox-Dub Edit)
2. Boom Jinx & Jaytech – Milano
3. Boom Jinx & Andrew Bayer – To The Six
4. Oliver Smith – Pacific
5. Solarity – Terminal 6
6. Dirty Vegas – Tonight (Above & Beyond Mix)
7. Reeves – Call Of Loneliness
8. Oliver Smith – Cadence
9. Velvetine – Safe (Wherever You Are)
10.Cold Blue – Mount Everest (Dennis Shepherd Mix)
11.Anhken – Green Line
12.Above & Beyond – Anjunabeach
13.Paul Keeley – Paper Jet (Bart Claessen Big Room Remix)
14.Mat Zo – Nuclear Fusion

1. Mike Koglin Vs. P.O.S. – Autumn
2. Sunny Lax – Misgrey
3. Nitrous Oxide – Aurora (Sunny Lax Remix)
4. Mat Zo – Default
5. Mike Shiver & Aruna – Everywhere You Are
6. Super8 & Tab – Irufushi
7. Cold Blue – 30 Degrees At Midnight
8. Lange pres. Firewall – Wanderlust
9. Nitrous Oxide & Adam Nickey – Moon Dust
10.Adam Nickey – Callista (Stoneface & Terminal Mix)
11.Daniel Kandi – Venice Beach
12.Activa pres. Solar Movement – Eclipse (Mat Zo Remix)
13.Dan Stone – Fahrenheit
14.Cold Blue – Downhill

Play CD 1:

Play CD 2:

You can buy the album at Amazon, Beatport, iTunes, HMV, and Juno.