It’s always nice to take a step back and evaluate how your taste is music has changed. In an attempt to illustrate my musical meanderings, I have uploaded one of Markus Schulz’s earliest compilation albums released in 2004. In all honesty, when I first obtained a copy of this I didn’t really know how to enjoy it. Back when I was first developing my love for trance, it was all about big breakdowns and high energy basslines. Releases like this seemed slow and tedious, and I lacked the patience needed in order to appreciate them. However, after a recent in-depth revisit of this album, I have discovered that my proclivities for dance music have naturally shifted, leading to a thorough indulgence of this throwback. While the tracks are still on the slower side, I am now able to recognize and grasp more of the finer details in the tracks. Don’t get me wrong, I still like my trance at 140bpm, but let’s just say that my attentiveness has definitely been broadened in my never ending search for good music. This release came out before Markus’ first artist album in 2005, and it also precedes all of his city-series compilation albums (which also started in 05 with the Miami release). All of the tracks on here are nice and deep, and they really helped to establish the early Coldharbour sound which came out at this time. I believe everyone’s taste in music should mature if enough time is devoted to quality listening. I only wish I had reached this point back in 04 so I could have truly enjoyed this album when it first came out. To me this release pretty much launched the Coldharbour label, so check it out below.

Disc 1

01 Intro
02 Christian Rusch – Numb
03 Taxi – Glistening
04 OceanLab – Satellite (Markus Schulz Coldharbour Remix)
05 Pinkbox Special – Simple
06 Mark Otten – Tranquility (Markus Schulz Coldharbour Remix)
07 San Mehat – Morning Star (San’s Sho-Road Mix)
08 Mind – Afterlife
09 Airwave – Ladyblue (Markus Schulz Coldharbour Remix)
10 Miro – By Your Side
11 Markus Schulz pres. Elevation – Somewhere (Clear Blue) (Markus Schulz Coldharbour Remix)

Disc 2
01 Whirlpool – Under The Sun (Markus Schulz Intro Mix)
02 Kobbe & Austin Leeds – Fusing Love (Markus Schulz & Austin Leeds Remix)
03 Thomas Penton – Dominica
04 Andrew K pres. Junk Science – Jataka
05 Özgür Can – Sometimes
06 Andain – Beautiful Things (Markus Schulz Shadows of Coldharbour Remix)
07 A. Matsumoto & DJ Yoshi – Dreamer (Luke Chable Remix)
08 Motorcycle – As The Rush Comes (Perry O’Neil Instrumental Mix)
09 Peter Martin pres. Anthanasia – Perfect Wave
10 George Hales – Autumn Falls (Alucard vs. Markus Schulz Remix)
11 Outro