Tag Archive: Spinnin

Here is another catch up album that is worth sharing with you guys. Romanian DJ/producer Claudia Cazacu has been on my radar for a couple of years now, as her productions have been solid and her Haute Couture radio mixes are always fun to listen to. She released a lot of impressive tunes through Spinnin’s sublabels, including 2Play, Reset, and Liquid, so it’s not surprising that she was able to set up her own label with Spinnin’, titled Couture. Both mixes are equally good, with the second one being more trancey. This is not a collection of brand new tunes, but Claudia does a nice job incorporating several hot tracks from earlier this year. Productions by Marcus Schossow, Thomas Sagstad, Artento Divini, Greg Downey, and Sied van Riel highlight this album for me, but I am impressed with the overall package Claudia has put together. If her live sets are anything like her radio show, I will be eagerly awaiting her visit to California.

01 John OO Fleming – 0MMX1215 (21street remix)
02 Dhillon – Firefly Delta (original mix)
03 Marcus Schossow & Thomas Sagstad – Dome (original mix)
04 Marvicks & Dirty Dot – Riser (original mix)
05 Afrojack – Bangduck (Moguai remix)
06 Hard Rock Sofa & St Brothers – Blow Up (Thomas Gold vs Axwell remix)
07 Jenya Solid – Blackout (original mix)
08 Jon Kong & Chris Aidy & Ana – Apollo (original mix)
09 Save The Robot – Big Ben (original mix)
10 Greg Downey presents RICO – Game Face (original mix)
11 Artento Divini – Lift Off (original mix)
12 Umek – Robot Audience (Dataminions remix)
13 Atem Niblz – Mirror (original mix)
14 Kyoshi – Speed Thai Chi (original mix)

01 Sied van Riel & Claudia Cazacu – Lights Off (original mix)
02 Smart Apes & Amex – Silent Wave (Marc Simz remix)
03 Jochen Miller – Troucid (original mix)
04 Mark Sherry – Phantasmic (original mix)
05 dARe – Lost In Madagascar (BVibes remix)
06 Chris Schweizer – Euphoria (original mix)
07 Paul Ercossa – Ercogen (original mix)
08 Jace Williams – Relay (original mix)
09 Claudia Cazacu – Maison (original mix)
10 RAM vs Nash & Lake – Never Ever (original mix)
11 Vicky Devine & Marcos – Forgotten Lies (feat Hayley Parsons – original mix)
12 Ernesto vs Bastian – God Is A DJ (dub mix)
13 Q’Bass – Fatal Dirt (original mix)
14 Hemstock & Jennings – Mirage (Of Hope) (Sied van Riel dub mix)

Claudia’s website

Erick Strong

Damn, I have been seriously lagging on these artist exhibits, I think I have only done a couple in the past year or so. Is trance getting boring or is there just a drought of young, auspicious talent available? It’s always nice to hear some new music, so here is fresh new kid on the block who has been putting out some really solid stuff. You may have heard him on Sander or Markus’ radio shows, which is how I got introduced to his work. I don’t have much information about this guy, but that just shows what a recent bloomer this talented producer has become. He’s so new that I only have three of his released tracks, with most of his stuff being distributed by Spinnin Records (or sublabels of Spinnin’). His style, which I like to describe as a mix between Sied van Riel and Dakota,  fits perfectly into their catalog. My favorite track of his so far is The Monster, but the rest of his songs are also top notch. I am definitely excited to hear what he can do on the decks, and if his mixes are anything like his productions, then he has a very promising future ahead of him. Who knows, this may even be an alias for an already established producer, but either way the tunes are massive. Don’t take my word for it, check out these awesome productions below.

Erick Strong – Orchids

Erick Strong – The Monster

Erick Strong – Joker

Erick Strong – Italian

Erick Strong – Cairo

Erick Strong – Hopeless

Simon Patterson

London based DJ/producer/remixer Simon Patterson has blown up in the last few years with an amazing sound which I like to describe as uniquely hard-hitting with a sense of purpose. With an extraordinary 7 number 1’s on Beatport, Simon’s work has definitely brought some life back into the trance genre. Before his solo career took off, he paired up with Richie Kayvan and they formed the group, Dogzilla. Together they released 4 major tracks, including the self titled Dogzilla, Without You, Your Eyes, and Frozen. They also had a handful of remixes which were not bad, but definitely not as good as their own original productions. 2006 saw the release of Simon’s first solo single, titled F16/The Navigator. F16 was fresh and hard, as it almost verged into the realm of psytrance with its fast, hypnotic bassline. However, it wasn’t until the release of Bulldozer in 2007 that surely put Simon on the map. I remember hearing Armin throw this down at Monster Massive in 2007 and the entire arena went nuts. Coupled with the release of Bulldozer was also the single We’ll See, which showed the more progressive side of Mr. Patterson. In the following years, Simon released more hard hitters such as Thump, Smack, and his remix of Fallen Tides. He also released a lot of softer, yet very nice progressive tracks such as Different Feeling, Whatever it Takes, and Us. Signed exclusively to Spinnin Records, Simon’s latest hit is titled Always and is available for purchase. As a DJ, Simon spins mostly trance, but I have also heard some sets where he throws in some techno, which is a pretty sweet change of pace and style. He has also worked closely with Sean Tyas in the studio and on the decks, and they have released the tracks Something’s Up and For the Most Part together. Their styles are similar enough where they get a good balance of progressive breakdowns and hard hitting beats. Simon Patterson is one of those producers that makes me wait anxiously for their next release, and that next big track cannot come any sooner.

Dogzilla – Without You (Original Mix)
Very nice vocal track with male vocals and use of electric guitar. PvD proclaimed track of the year.

Dogzilla – Without You (Dogzilla Dub)
Nice instrumental of the same track.

Dogzilla – Frozen (Original Mix)
Another early release, male-vocal track.

Dogzilla – Your Eyes (Original Mix)
You can definitely hear the ‘Patterson style’ in this 2004 track.

Simon Patterson – Bulldozer (Original Mix)
The beat-drop of this song is amazing. No joke! One of the most original tracks I have heard in my life. This bassline is not to be fucked with.

Simon Patterson – We’ll See (Original Mix)
Another one of my favorite Patterson tracks.

Mark Pledger vs Matt Hardwick – Falling Tides feat. Melinda Gareh (Simon Patterson Dub Mix)
One of the few remixes that Simon has done, but done very well nonetheless.

Simon Patterson – Different Feeling (Original Mix)
A sweet change-up from the usual style. This definitely does have a different feel to the track, and it is very chill indeed.

Simon Patterson – Smack (Original Mix)
Back to the hard hitting style, similar to Bulldozer. Again, another bassline that cannot be touched.

Simon Patterson – Whatever It Takes (Original Mix)
I love how he releases a more progressive track alongside a harder track. Released at the same time as Smack, this track is the perfect counterbalance to it.

Simon Patterson & Sean Tyas – Something’s Up
This is their first collaboration together, and I think it is better than their 2009 release of For the Most Part. If you listen closely, you can tell which parts each producer contributed to the song. Truly a two-headed monster with a beautiful breakdown and savage bassline. Trance definitely needs more collaborations like this one.

Simon Patterson – Us (Original Mix)
A great progressive track by Simon. He has a great feel of how to build up to the beatdrop. There’s also a Paul Miller remix which is pretty good too.

Sam Sharp – Roundabout (Simon Patterson Remix)
Nice remix of Sander van Doorn’s track released in Feb. of this year.

Check out his latest single here:

Simon’s website