Tag Archive: Erick Strong

Sander van Doorn is back to kick off the summer with his second Dusk Till Doorn compilation album. One thing that I always enjoy about Sander’s work is the flawless mixing, which is something he has done consistently throughout his career. Even though this is a studio mix, Sander’s mixing ability is still easily recognized as one of the best in the game. The first Dusk Till Doorn album was pretty good, although I had a problem with the deficiency of  new tunes. This year’s release is a little bit better in terms of tracklist, but it still lacks the freshness that you hear in other compilations. I guess the aim of this album is to bring you the best of what Sander has been playing recently, instead of showcasing new unreleased stuff from his label.

Disc 1 starts off with a nice intro by Dutch house producer Olav Basoski. The second track marks the return of Filterheadz with their second single this year, It Will Come To You. This blends smoothly into an interesting remix of Reach Out by Thomas Gold, but the original version still takes the cake. Afrojack and Wippenberg get into the mix with two of their latest, which have both been very popular this year. Next we hear a modern version of the classic Hale Bop by Der Dritee Raum with Dr. Kucho! on the rework. It’s always intriguing to hear these modern takes on old tunes, and this one is done legitimately. Moguai has a pair of tracks following that; the first one is sick and really sucks you into its old school bassline. I really can’t wait for this release on Anjunabeats towards the end of this month. The next two songs are a couple of Sander’s own productions, including the Basto remix of Love is Darkness. Erick Strong’s Italian does remind me of Randy Katana’s In Silence, but in a nostalgically good way. Fedde’s Control Room has been massive and also stands out in the end of the mix. The Arty remix of Punk is decent, but I’m not too sold on the direction Arty is heading towards. Although he’s very talented and probably still exploring different styles, I much prefer his melodic stuff from last year compared to this edgier sound.

While disc 1 focuses on the house side of things, Sander busts out the trance in the second disc. The opener is a very good track by Filterheadz, which was released on Doorn records last month. Sander also features MEM’s latest track Illumination, which is another one of my favorites for this year. There are also two back-to-back songs by Ummet Ozcan, who is a Doorn veteran and a frequent artist on SvD’s mixes.  Evol Waves does a great job with his cover of Everything In Its Right Place, and he pays homage to one of my favorite rock bands, Radiohead. We also get another sweet Erick Strong production in this disc, and great new songs by Radion 6, Genix, and Leon Bolier fill out the rest of the mix. Sander concludes this album with Spotfire, which is an interesting dubstep-infused house track. I’m surprised the new Purple Haze track Timezone is not on here, there must be some sort of marketing strategy for not including it. Overall these two mixes are put together very well. Sander’s best work still lies in his live sets, but this album is a great stand-in until you get to hear the real deal.

CD1 – Dusk
01 Bingo Players – Cry (Just A Little) (Olav Basoski Remix)
02 Filterheadz – It Will Come To You
03 Sander van Doorn – Reach Out (Thomas Gold Remix)
04 Afrojack – Doing It Right
05 Wippenberg – Phoenix
06 Dr. Kucho! – Hale Bop
07 Moguai – Optinuum
08 Felix Da Housecat pres. Thee Nese Djouma Projesi – Zaman (Moguai Remix)
09 Sander van Doorn – Koko
10 Sander van Doorn feat. Carol Lee – Love Is Darkness (Basto’s Bigroom Baby)
11 Marco V – Sticker
12 Nicky Romero – Keyword
13 Fedde Le Grand – Control Room
14 Erick Strong – Italian
15 Tiësto & Hardwell – Zero 76
16 Ferry Corsten – Punk (Arty Rock-n-Rolla Mix)
17 Swanky Tunes & Hard Rock Sofa – I Wanna Be Your Dog

CD2 – Dawn
01 Filterheadz – Everything Explained
02 MEM – Illumination
03 Heikki L & Lovetone – Whiteout
04 D-Mad feat. Emma Lock – I Love Indigo (Festival Mix)
05 Manuel De La Mare & Paul Thomas – Circle Of Life
06 Ali Wilson & Matt Smallwood – Bliss
07 Slusnik Luna – Sun 2011 (4 Strings Remix)
08 Radion 6 – Stuck In Rio
09 Evol Wavez – Everything In Its Right Place
10 Erick Strong – Hopeless
11 Ummet Ozcan – Transcend
12 Ummet Ozcan – Reboot
13 Genix – Cut Above
14 Leon Bolier – Cape Town
15 Sander van Doorn – Daddyrock (Arty Remix)
16 Jordan Suckly – 23!
17 Jon O’Bir & Sonic Element – Let Go
18 Jacob van Hage – Spotfire

Here is Sander’s interview about this album release:

Sander van Dorn – Dusk Till Doorn (2010)

Erick Strong

Damn, I have been seriously lagging on these artist exhibits, I think I have only done a couple in the past year or so. Is trance getting boring or is there just a drought of young, auspicious talent available? It’s always nice to hear some new music, so here is fresh new kid on the block who has been putting out some really solid stuff. You may have heard him on Sander or Markus’ radio shows, which is how I got introduced to his work. I don’t have much information about this guy, but that just shows what a recent bloomer this talented producer has become. He’s so new that I only have three of his released tracks, with most of his stuff being distributed by Spinnin Records (or sublabels of Spinnin’). His style, which I like to describe as a mix between Sied van Riel and Dakota,  fits perfectly into their catalog. My favorite track of his so far is The Monster, but the rest of his songs are also top notch. I am definitely excited to hear what he can do on the decks, and if his mixes are anything like his productions, then he has a very promising future ahead of him. Who knows, this may even be an alias for an already established producer, but either way the tunes are massive. Don’t take my word for it, check out these awesome productions below.

Erick Strong – Orchids

Erick Strong – The Monster

Erick Strong – Joker

Erick Strong – Italian

Erick Strong – Cairo

Erick Strong – Hopeless