Let’s start this week off with a chill, finely matured album for all of you progressive trance lovers out there. Electronic Architecture 2 is a special compilation that came out earlier this year, and it has lived up to the expectations set by EA1, which was released in 2009. This album is not for the amateur trance listener; you won’t find the familiar bubble-gum pop tracks which can be heard on some of today’s radio shows. This is not easily digested, it will take more than one listen to really get into the juicy, complex details that Solarstone has laid out in these two mixes. However, the more times you listen to it, the more you will appreciate the quality of work presented here.

Richard Mowatt, better known professionally as Solarstone, has continued on with his reinvention of the trance mix to great success. This EA series has been all about the fusion of sound, incorporating work from artists around the world and orchestrating it into two complete packages. I love the variety of sound you get with these 28 tunes. Solarstone has done an excellent job discovering these relatively unknown songs, and he skillfully brings out the uniqueness of each one without disrupting the integrity of the whole mix. This album was obviously not mixed traditionally, as we hear in the seamless transitions and in the progression through the CD. I know it sounds pretty cliche, but the point of a mix is to bring the listener on an auditory journey, and Solarstone has accomplished that easily with this new release.

Both mixes are crafted wonderfully, and it’s hard to say which one is better. The second half of CD1 has some really beautiful tracks in it, including Alucard’s Sliver, Dice by Kazusa & Shingo Nakamura, and Icedive by Aerium. The second mix packs a bit more energy, but it still moves gracefully from end to end. My favorites from the second are White Wind by Ozo Effy, Escapade by Majera, Almar’s Wasted Time, and the amazing Orkidea remix of Touchstone. Honestly there’s really too many good ones to name, because almost every track something to bring to the table. Whether it be an engaging bassline or an intricate sound, each one of these productions is impressive. Put them all together and you get one hell of an end product. If you purchase either the digital or physical copy of this CD, both versions come with a very cool booklet filled with mind expanding artwork. Seriously, take your time and listen to this whole thing through, you won’t be disappointed.

01 Solarstone – Reconstruced Intro
02 Matvey Emerson – Prizma (Reconstruction)
03 Piotro – Mist (Reconstruction)
04 Nick Stoynoff – Tokyo Nights
05 Daniel Mahuad – Winter Solstice (Sunn Jellie Remix)
06 Piotro – Uncontrollable
07 Abdomen Burst Feat. Yavanndiel – Solar Eclipse
08 Hybrid – Numb (Kill City Sounds 03 Remix Reconstruction)
09 Solarstone – Big Wheel
10 Alucard – Sliver
11 Kazusa & Shingo Nakamura – Dice
12 Aerium – Icedive (Reconstruction)
13 Poonyk & Oxide – Weekend
14 Elfsong – Eta Carinae


01 Aeron Aether & Embliss – A New Dawn (Reconstruction)
02 Janeiro & Sovt – Dreams Of The Sea
03 Mike Saint-Jules – Vespera (Reconstruction)
04 Jahawi – Nairobi To London
05 Solarstone – Touchstone (Orkidea Remix)
06 Medway – Resurrection (Proff Remix)
07 Baltic Sound – Searchers Lane
08 Ozo Effy – White Wind
09 Peter Liu – City Of Dreams
10 Majera – Escapade
11 Tilt – I Dream (Nick Rowland Remix)
12 Almar – Wasted Time
13 Active Limbic System – Vanity
14 DJ Orion & J.Shore – Architect’s Dream (Dub)

Solarstone EA2 interview on trancehub