Let’s bring it back to the turn of the century with the first edition of the In Search of Sunrise series, put together by DJ Tiesto. The ISOS series has grown to massive proportions, spawning 9 total releases and covering over 12 years of trance music. Because these are studio mixes (as opposed to the recorded live mixes of the Magik and Forbidden Paradise series), Tiesto is able to expertly blend all of these tunes together into a complete trance voyage. This one came out between the releases of Magik IV and V, still a couple of years before Tiesto’s debut artist album in 2001. All of his experience with his previous mix CDs is clearly exhibited in this release, as the tracks flow smoothly into each other and the placements are right where they need to be. I like almost every song in this mix, and there are several talented producers whose work can be found in here. BT is featured in tracks 2 and 5, Ferry Corsten in tracks 2 and 10, and Lange in tracks 12 and 13. Matt Darey is also featured using his alias Mash Up Matt, and Nick Muir (a Bedrock mastermind) has a sick production under his alias Cabala. In fact, Dark Blue is one of my favorites on this album, along with I Trance You, Sun Is Shining, and of course Walhalla. This edition of ISOS isn’t the best one, but it is an important milestone in Tiesto’s career and it’s definitely worth a listen.

DJ Tiesto – In Search of Sunrise (1999)
01 York – The Reachers Of Civilisation
02 Libra Presents Taylor – Anomaly (Calling Your Name) (Ferry Corsten Remix)
03 Billie Ray Martin – Honey (Chicane Club Mix)
04 Marc Vision – Time Gate (Original Mix)
05 BT – Mercury & Solace (BT 12” Mastermix)
06 Cabala – Dark Blue
07 Gypsy – I Trance You (Pappa & Gilbey Mix)
08 Yahel & DJ Miss T – Going Up
09 Technique – Sun Is Shining (Mash Up Matt Remix)
10 Gouryella – Walhalla
11 Kamaya Painters – Far From Over
12 Lange – I Believe (DJ Tandu Remix)
13 The Morrighan – Remember (To The Millenium) (Lange Remix)
14 DJ Tiesto – Sparkles (Magikal Remake)

Some more old school Tiesto:
Tiesto – Nyana

Tiesto – Magik 1: First Flight
Tiesto – Magik 3: Far From Earth