Since I am already in Ferry Corsten mode, here is a album mixed by him in 1999 for this week’s throwback. The Innercity party of 1999 was actually a tour which started in Amsterdam at the RAI Exhibition and Convention Centre. This venue is made up of a large series of halls and conference rooms, so thousands of music fans were in attendance for the first leg of the tour. This mix is such a great contrast compared to the music found in my previous post of Ferry’s current material. There’s plenty of old school work from Ferry, Tiesto, Benno, and Oliver Lieb to go around in this CD, and it paints a pretty nice picture of the trance scene at the turn of the century. The first half of the mix has all your usual suspects, including tracks by Rank 1, Vimana, Chakra, Kamaya Painters, and Gouryella. There were more unfamiliar, nevertheless good songs for me in the second half, such as The Digital Blonde’s Electra and Ferry’s remix of I”m In Love. A lot of these producers are still in the business presently, but I wonder what guys like Oliver Lieb and Transa are doing nowadays. This style of trance seems so old and primitive now, yet I can barely get sick of it. I still find myself discovering new sounds and beats even within these old songs, which only bolsters my fascination with the limitless possibilities of electronic music.

Ferry Corsten – Live at Innercity 1999 (Amsterdam RAI)
01 Rank 1 – Airwave
02 Vimana – We Came
03 Luis Paris – Incantation
04 Gouryella – Walhalla
05 Der Dritte Raum – Hale Bop (Nick Warren & Starecase’s Jackdaw Mix)
06 DJ Jan – X-Santo (Transa Remix)
07 Kamaya Painters – Cryptomnesia
08 Chakra – Love Shines Through
09 The Digital Blonde – Electra
10 Starparty – I’m In Love (Ferry Corsten and Robert Smit Remix)
11 Force Majeure – Redemption (The Thrillseekers Redeemed Remix)
12 The Rapid Eye – Alderaan
13 Jon Vesta – Gull
14 Soundcheck – Mindrive
15 L.S.G.- I’m Not Exiting
16 Solar Stone – Seven Cities (Solar Stone’s Atlantis Mix)

Here are some videos from the event:


Check out the commercial for this album: