Here’s a nice little blast from the past featuring Nick Warren and Oakie on the decks from Cream in 1997. These songs date all the way back to the mid-90’s, so if you remember any of these tracks, I applaud you for listening to electronic music for so long. Paul Oakenfold has made his name famous for many years now, but I have a feeling Nick Warren may sound a bit unfamiliar to most. As half of the driving force behind Way Out West, Nick has been producing beats for over 15 years now and has DJ’ed at many renowned clubs, including his multi-year residency at Cream in Liverpool, England. He has also been selected to mix 8 of the respected Global Underground series, which has now reached the impressive number of 39 compilation albums. Together, he and Paul put together the Cream: Live vol. 2 album in 1997, and here is the Essential Mix from that same year. It is pretty raw with ok sound quality, but you can definitely hear the crowd’s energy as they react to the great set these two legends present to them.

BBC 1 Radio – Essential Mix With Nick Warren & Paul Oakenfold – Live from Cream in Liverpool, England

Nick Warren
01 Cardigans – Your New Cuckoo
02 Camisra – Let Me Show You [VC White Label]
03 Lay Rue – I’ll Be The Same [Work]
04 Future Funk – Dance With Me
05 Byron Stingily – You Make Me Feel Mighty Real [Manifesto]
06 Grooveyard – Mary Go Wild [Grooveyard]
07 Karen Ramirez – Troubled Girl (Way Out West Mix) [Manifesto]
08 Sunset Sky – Built To Burn [Pied Piper]
09 Energy 52 – Cafe Del Mar (Three ‘n’ One Remix) [Hooj Choons]
10 Lighthouse Family – Untitled (Matthew Roberts Mix)
11 Sunscreem – Cover Me
12 Prodigy – Smack My Bitch Up (Slacker Remix) [XL]

Paul Oakenfold
01 Tilt – Butterfly [Acetate]
02 Tilt & Paul Van Dyk – Rendezvous [Perfecto]
03 BT – Remember (Sasha Remix) [Acetate]
04 Koncept – ?
05 Krystal – Burning Flame [Flex]
06 Y-Traxx – Mystery Land (Remix) [FFRR]
07 Virus – Hypnotise [Perfecto Fluoro]
08 Amoeba Assassin – Roller Coaster [Perfecto]
09 Mansun – Wide Open Space (Remix) [Mercury Acetate]
Download the set here