Two weeks ago Black Hole Recordings re-released Nyana, an all-out mix compilation put together by DJ Tiesto in 2003. When I first heard this album many years ago, I wasn’t too keen on this release, but then again my trance knowledge was fairly limited at that time. Now that I have revisited this album, I can appreciate what Tiesto was aiming to do with this album. The first disc is titled Outdoor, and it is contains a heavier techno influence above anything else. Tracks like Love Angel and Urban Shakedown give the first disc its edgy atmosphere. The first disc also features Tiesto’s own production Nyana, which is one of my favorite tracks of his. The second disc is a must listen for fans of vocal trance. Beautiful Things, As the Rush Comes, and Never are songs that should be in the vocal trance hall of fame. The rest of the second disc is dreamlike, with chill tunes like Nothing and Requiem for a Dream holding down the progressive theme. I’ll admit that I initially enjoyed the second disc more, but now I take pleasure in both of them for their unique styles. Overall this release is pretty good, but it doesn’t have the magnetism that the Magik series exudes. Nor does it put you on the auditory journey that the first few ISOS albums do. Nyana does have its hidden gems, but it might take you a few listens to find them. Either way, this is a nice re-release which includes all of the original tracks in their unedited, unmixed forms, along with the complete mix for each disc.

CD1 – Outdoor
01 Reinhard Voigt – Supertiel
02 Tom Mangan – Chutney (Size 9 Reinterpretation)
03 The Ambush – Acapulco
04 Tiesto Vs. Junkie XL – Obsession (Frank Biazzi Remix)
05 Planisphere – Totem
06 Darren Tate Vs. Jono Grant – Let The Light Shine In
07 Midway – Inca
08 Tiesto – Nyana
09 DJ Cor Fijneman – Venus (Ft. Jan Johnston) (Meant To Be Your Lover) (Tiesto Remix)
10 Conjure One – Tears From The Moon (Ft. Sinead O’Connor) (Tiesto In Search Of Sunrise Remix)
11 DJ Ton T.B – Electronic Malfunction
12 The Gift – Love Angel (M.I.K.E. Remix)
13 Solar Factor – Urban Shakedown
14 GTR – Mistral

CD 2 – Indoor
01 Catcher – Destiny Sunrise
02 Filterheadz Pres. Orange 3 – In Your Eyes (Blue Mix)
03 Andain – Beautiful Things (Gabriel & Dresden Unplugged Mix)
04 Solarstone Vs. Sirocco – Destination
05 Young Parisians – U Write The Rules (Solarstone Remix)
06 Holden & Thompson – Nothing (93 Returning Mix)
07 Mr. Sam Vs. Fred Baker Pres. As One – Forever Waiting
08 Motorcycle – As The Rush Comes (Gabriel & Dresden Sweeping Strings Mix)
09 The Roc Project – Never (Ft. Tina Arena) (DJ Tiesto Remix Vs. Filterheadz Luv Tina Remix)
10 Smart System – Morgentau (Spring Mix)
11 Leama – Requiem For A Dream (Leama’s Dream Mix)
12 P.O.S – Remember (Summer Sun)
13 Solid Globe – North Pole