Here is the second studio mix compilation from John O’Callaghan, the first being Subculture 2009. For those of you who tune in to his monthly radio show or have heard him live, you should be well aware of the style that JOC plays. High in energy and fast in tempo, John’s sets are distinctively hard, yet they also always contain some nice melodic songs. The album is set up to capitalize on these two styles. The first disc, with tracks like Halo, Alaska, and Kanya, is where the strong melodies lie. John also mixes in a few of his newer tracks such as Rhea, Desert Orchid, and his remixes of Arpora and I Feel You. When I first heard Arpora, I wasn’t too impressed but it has started to grow on me. It kind of reminds me of old school JOC and the tracks he was putting out around 2006. Make no mistake about it, the first disc is straight up trance with a handful of vocal tracks and some nice breakdowns.

If uplifting is not for you, you may like the darker second disc. It has a much bigger bite to it as JOC delivers banger after banger. I really like the Joint Operations Centre remix of Found a Way, and I’m glad he also included the new Goosebumps remix by Sean Tyas. This mix starts off with the progressive side of JOC with the Botnik single, and then gets faster and harder with the help of Giuseppe Ottaviani, Bryan Kearney, John Askew, and Nick Sentience. I like how he included both releases from Giuseppe’s new single, as both of them fit very well into the scheme of this album. If you are a fan of his Subculture radio show like I am, you will certainly enjoy this CD. It was released last week on Armada Records, so go grab your copy today.


01 Mark Leanings – Alaska (Intro Mix)
02 Sly One Vs Jurrane – Everything To Me (Original Mix)
03 Luke Terry Feat Kerry Leva – Arpora (John O’Callaghan Remix)
04 Jorn Van Deynhoven & Temple One – Halo (Jorn Van Deynhoven Mix)
05 Phillip Alpha & Daniel Kandi – Sticks & Stones (Original Mix)
06 Ehren Stowers – Ascent
07 Gareth Emery Feat Lucy Saunders – Sanctuary (Sean Tyas Remix)
08 John O’Callaghan Vs Neptune Project – Rhea
09 Orla Feeney – Lesson Learned (Giuseppe Ottaviani Remix)
10 John O’Callaghan – Desert Orchid (Original Mix)
11 Mark Leanings – Alaska (Original Mix)
12 Lustral – I Feel You (John O’Callaghan Remix)
13 Tom Colontonio – Nighthawk
14 Neal Scarborough – Kanya (Original Mix)
15 Sophie Sugar – All For You (Original Mix)
16 Giuseppe Ottaviani – Lightwaves

01 Thomas Bronzwaer – Collider (Intro Mix)
02 JOC – Botnik
03 Timmy & Tommy – Check This Tilt
04 Judge Jules – Verano Loco (Ummet Ozcan Mix)
05 Jordan Suckley – Jet 2 Hell
06 Adam Foley – No Kontrol
07 W&W – Alpha
08 Ronald Van Gelderen – Semper Fi (John O’Callaghan Remix)
09 Jon O’Bir Feat Fisher – Found A Way (Joint Operations Centre Remix)
10 Activa Vs Revolution 9 – The Fall (Original Mix)
11 Bryan Kearney – Mexican Rave (Neal Scarborough Remix)
12 Thomas Bronzwaer – Galaxyrise
13 Ruben De Ronde – Forever In Our Hearts (Tom Colontonio Remix)
14 Robbie Nelson – Up In Smoke
15 Nick Sentience – Nocturnal
16 Giuseppe Ottaviani – Danceology
17 John Askew – To The Floor
18 Bryan Kearney – Goosebumps (Sean Tyas Remix)