The year 2001 was the second program of the massive ID&T party, Sensation. Lasting from 10pm until 7 in the morning, this party featured the DJs Roog, Jean, Rank1, Marco V, and Michel de Hey. The theme of the event was Rank 1’s Such Is Life, and a couple of versions of this song were played throughout the night. The following recording is mixed by Marco V, who spun the hardest set of the night. Marco doesn’t really play like this anymore, as his style has shifted towards a slower and bouncier beat. Back then, he used to play some serious bangers, as you can hear in this set. The more you listen to older stuff like this, the more you realize that modern trance has gotten soft. Ok, maybe not all new trance is soft, but there is definitely easier access to the cheese shop. Oh well, I guess in the long run it’s better to have more variety anyway, so hopefully everybody wins. Underneath the music I have also included two official party videos, which includes clips from that night. Notice that everyone is still spinning vinyl at this point, there are no laptops, controllers, etc.

Marco V – Sensation White, Amsterdam Arena (July 7, 2001)
01 Intro
02 Marco V – GODD
03 Pee Wee Ferris – Spaghettification
04 Kamaya Painters – Wasteland (Chab Tribute 2 Bedrock Mix)
05 Marco V – Simulated
06 Pete Heller pres. Stylus Trouble – Sputnik (Mainframe Mix)
07 Chris Cowie – Roamer & DJ Tiesto – Flight 643
08 Saccoman – The Recall (Picotto Answer Mix)
09 Faithless – We Come 1 (Hiver & Hammer Mix)
10 Members Of Mayday – 10 In 01
11 Underworld – Born Slippy (CJ Stone Remix)
12 System F – Dance Valley Theme 2001
13 Saccoman – The Recall (Call Up Mix)
14 Marco V – Indicator
15 Out Of Grace – Obscura
16 Cequenza – Sonic Blue (Cequenza Mix)
17 Tilt – Childeren (Courtyard Remix)
18 Rank 1 – Such Is Life (Deep Dub Mix)
19 DJ Tomcraft – Prosac (Tony H Yeah Remix)
20 Joy Kitikonti – Joy Energizer (Physical 1 Mix)
21 Sandro Vibot – Everyday (Someday Mix)
22 Strobe – Human Animal
23 Stateform – Rio (Marcel Woods Remix)
24 Blaze ft. Palmer Brown – My Beat (Ambassador Remix)

Download the set here