Last weekend I attended the annual Nocturnal Festival thrown by Insomniac Events. This year’s party was thrown at the NOS Events Center in San Bernardino, California and generally speaking, I was very impressed with the level of production. Everything was planned out very well and the night progressed smoothly with little to no complaints. One thing that I really liked was the setup of the stages. Insomniac did a great job utilizing the three massive tent-stages and two separate side-rooms to incorporate the 100+ artists/performers who  kept the party jumpin. The good thing about NOS is that it’s pretty roomy, so it never felt overcrowded, too hot, or suffocating like some other SoCal events. There was plenty of room to dance which was a nice attribute. The musical variety was very welcoming as my friends and I jumped from stage to stage, trying to catch a little bit of everyone’s performance. Alice’s Room was definitely the place to be due to its larger-than-life setup,  stunning visual effects, and the capacity of the crowd. I’d have to say my favorite set of the night was either Simon Patterson’s or Markus Schulz’s, but that’s probably due to my partiality towards trance. Simon played a handful of his own productions and kept the energy pretty high. Markus did a good job too and played a lot of tunes from his usual repertoire. I’m not sure if any of the sets from the night were recorded, but I will post some up if I can get my hands on a few of them. Overall I had a wonderful experience with an excellent group of friends, and I am very happy that Insomniac stepped up their game. Here are some videos from throughout the night, taken at different stages(remember to play in HD for better quality):

Simon Patterson spinnin Smack

Markus Schulz playing Mr. Pit – Sky Traffic

LA Riots in one of the smaller tents

Steve Angello in the Alice’s Room Stage (best stage setup)

Benga & Skream in the dubstep room

For some really nice picture from the event, check out the Rukes website.
For some more videos, check out my buddy’s review of the night.
For even more videos, check out my boy’s youtube page.