Last Friday night I saw Markus Schulz at Club Voyeur down here in San Diego, and it turned out to be one of the more memorable clubbing events I have ever experienced. The venue was nice, the crowd was really into it, and most importantly, the music was perfect. I left the club completely satisfied, which is usually never the case. Let’s start this review with the venue…

Prior to my first visit to Voyeur, I had heard many good stories about the club. Most of the compliments were directed towards the giant LED screen behind the stage, and I could immediately see why once I entered. The screen was very cool, and it reminded me of the one Armin used in NY at the ASOT party. The videos displayed on the wall matched up with the peaks and valleys of the songs, and during some of the tracks, the lyrics would flash across the screens.  For people who were on one, I’m sure they were enjoying the screen 10x more. In addition to the LEDs, there were two recessed stages built into the wall, where two go-go dancers took turns dancing. The decorations were nice and matched the dark, gothic theme of the club. I saw some skulls lining the black walls, and on the top balcony there is plexi-glass on the floor, allowing you to see into the ground floor.  Upstairs there was also a section where someone was painting some watercolor, and some of their paintings were also up for display. The only quip I have about the place is the layout. Formerly known as Ole’ Madrid, the club is actually a bar converted into a club using two big walls splitting the room. I’m not sure why they did this because it pretty much cuts the dance floor in half and limits the view from the bar, which is to the rear of the dance floor. The overall net effect this creates is a very cozy, intimate environment. The line to get in was very quick, and I barely saw any security throughout the night.

Due to the lack of space, the crowd on the dance floor looked pretty small. It did get a little bit crowded, but it wasn’t anything unbearable. I’m glad the organizers didn’t overpack the club; the ratio of people to space was good. I liked how everyone was pretty close to Markus and the DJ booth, I believe this helps the vibe immensely. From wall to wall, I could see everyone dancing or bobbing their heads to the music. There was some pushing and shoving, but that only happened when people were leaving or entering the dance floor. Temperature wise, it seemed like some spots on the floor were cooler while others were hotter, and I eventually found a sweet spot next to one of the dividing walls that was pretty comfortable. There were two guys in front of me who were obviously rolling, and I had to put my forearm up to block them from bumping into me. However, this backfired and I think they enjoyed the pressure in their backs, so they kept dancing against me! Eventually I moved out of the way of their sweaty shirts, but the scenario was more humorous than annoying. Everyone seemed to be enjoying themselves which is the most important thing.

I haven’t actually heard Markus spin in a while, but his set was amazing. I recognized most of the tracks from his GBDJ Broadcast, but it was sweet hearing them loud and in person. Actually, hearing most songs loud will make them sound better, but that’s besides the point. He played a handful of songs from his new album, which will be out soon. He also played some older tracks, like Cosmic Gate’s remix of Home and Super 8 & Tab’s remix of Nothing But You. The flow of his set was amazing; it was banger after banger and he was in complete control of the crowd. My favorite moment of the night was when he played either Not the Same or Tenishia’s 2010 remix of Flesh. I have included both of these videos below, along with a few others from the night. His set was so good that I was tempted to go check out his performance the next day at Avalon, Los Angeles. Sadly I didn’t, but I am looking forward to the next time he comes into town. Who knows, maybe I will even book my flight for his set at Ruby Skye on July 4th weekend.

Here are some pictures and videos from the night (I couldn’t take many decent photos because I kept getting bumped and the lighting from my angle was pretty bad). Remember to watch the videos in HD for better quality, and lookout for Markus in the bottom left corner of the screen.

Markus Schulz – Not the Same feat. Jennifer Rene
Here’s an excellent song with beautiful vocals… this is the reason I can’t wait for the album to be released!

M6 – The Flow (Skytech Remix)
Here’s a nice Skytech remix. Pretty dope lead in this track.

Jan Johnston – Flesh (Tenishia 2010 Remix)
Really nice vocal track… I love how the vocals pop up on the screen. Definitely a sick beat after the breakdown.

Lentos – Forget About Us (Barnes & Heatcliff Remix)
Markus’ set was filled with great tunes like this one.

Check out my youtube page for more videos from the night.