Out now on Future Sound of Egypt (Armada) records, this is the debut album from a pair of the best trance producers out there. It has been over 7 years now since their breakthrough track Eye of Horus was released, but that’s not to say they have had a slow career. They always seem to come out with a handful of great tunes and remixes each year, but I guess there was never enough content to put together an original artist album. The time has finally arrived for Aly & Fila to call themselves true artists with their first album release! After the first listen through these tracks, I was pleasantly unsurprised by what I heard. Aly & Fila have remained true to their style and produced an album so authentically A&F that I swear I was listening to an episode of FSOE. With help from Activa, Philippe El Sisi, and Bjorn Akkesson, three producers who share similar styles and taste, Aly & Fila have created a wonderful piece of work that sends you floating away into the world of euphoric trance. Like most trance artist albums today, theirs also features the vocals of some recognizable names, including Denise Rivera, Josie, and Tiff Lacey. I haven’t heard much from Sue McLaren, but she is also heard on two of these tracks. I am eagerly waiting for either the club versions or some great remixes of these songs, but for now here are some notable tracks from this great release:

Aly & Fila – Medellin (with Activa)
This is a great opening track for the album which sets the mood right. I like the psy-elements after the breakdown, very nice touch (I’m assuming) by Activa.

Aly & Fila – Rosaires
Rosaires was actually released last year and was featured in ASOT 2009, and we hear it again here in the artist album.

Aly & Fila – Menes
This one is heavy with that Egyptian sound… you will understand what I mean once you give it a listen.

Aly & Fila – Perfect Red feat. Bjorn Akesson
Here is one of my favorite tracks from this album. I’m not sure if it has anything to do with Akesson’s Perfect Blue, but it is a nice one. Actually, it kinda does sound similar in some parts after a few more listens. Either way, this one gets two thumbs up from me.

Aly & Fila – Without You (The Never Knowing) (with Philippe El Sisi and Senadee)
Here is Egypt at its finest mixed with a little British vocals. Honestly I think a dub version would be a little bit better in this case, but that may be on account of my distaste for male vocals.

Aly & Fila – Khepera
Here’s another track which was released last year in 2009. When I listen to this song, I can imagine myself cruising around the Sahara Desert looking for an oasis to chill at.

Aly & Fila – Breeze feat. Jass
This track was already chosen to be a future favorite on Armin’s ASOT radio show. I can’t wait to get my hands on an extended version of this song, it’s made of pure A&F quality.

Aly & Fila – Rising Sun
Here’s a nice little number to close out the CD. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a title track as the last song on the album before, but it works well here.

Here’s some remixes which have already been in circulation for a few weeks:

Aly & Fila – Listening feat. Josie (Philippe El Sisi Remix)

Aly & Fila – My Mind Is With You (W&W Remix)

Check out my original A&F review (with some more tracks) here.