With what seems to be a World Cup reference (or marketing ploy), the ISOS series has landed in South Africa, this time with Richard Durand directing the pursuit. I guess Tiesto finally found his sunrise in Asia back in 2008, because he has passed control of the series on to Richard Durand. This album contains mostly unreleased tracks, and there are quite a few good ones too. Released on SongBird (a sub-label of Black Hole), this CD is loaded with fresh vocals and has a nice summery feel to it. I’m not really a fan of Durand’s recent releases (2 of them can be found on this album), but many of the other songs are impressive. Artists such as Beltek, Zoo Brazil, and Moonbeam all return from ISOS 7 to add a new piece of work to this album. The vocal tracks are solid, and you can really hear the Black Hole sound throughout the mixes.

As for the new Mr. ISOS, Richard Durand does a good job of stepping into Tiesto’s shadow. The ISOS series, which for a long time was synonymous with Tiesto, doesn’t miss a beat with this latest volume. Now, whether you think that is a good or bad thing is up to you. Regardless of the hate often pointed towards Tiesto, I always thought he did a good job presenting new tracks through the last 7 Sunrise albums. Some claim that the Sunrise series is boring, and I can’t completely disagree with this. It does take several listens to really enjoy the depth of the tracks, and even though the series is pretty commercialized, you can’t deny the level of talent that is signed to Tiesto’s label. The two discs flow well, which is a nice note compared to some of the bad stories I’ve heard about Durand. His style ranges across the whole spectrum, from chill, light paced tracks to hard, bold tunes, and he displays all of it in these two CDs. Whether you love or hate Tiesto and Durand, you should still check out this album just for the new tunes.

Disc 1
01 First State – My Sanctuary
02 George Acosta featuring Fisher – Beautiful
03 Venaccio & Daigon – The Violet Hour
04 Kostya Veter featuring Madelin Zero – Envy
05 Ad Brown and Matt Lange featuring Kerry Leva – As The Rain Falls
06 Craving – Never Alone
07 Zoo Brazil featuring Rasmus Kellerman – There Is Hope
08 Ben Preston – Pillars Of The Earth
09 San vs. Wendel Kos – Kiss Of Life (Ibiza Sunrise Mix)
10 Jorg Zimmer – Sydney
11 Avis Vox – Introspection Attempts (Moonbeam Remix)
12 Tom Cloud – The Darkest Star
13 Richard Durand – For No Reason

Disc 2
01 Michael Badal, Zya & Teddy C – Deltree
02 Ad Brown featuring Renee Six – Something For The Pain
03 Jason van Wyk – September Rain
04 San featuring Therese – Kissed By The Sun (S1dechain Remix)
05 Daniel Wanrooy – Ocean Terrace
06 BT – The Emergency
07 Alex O’Rion – Jellyfish
08 Richard Durand & JES – N.Y.C.
09 Hodel & Sunstate – Distant Motion (Aurosonic Remix)
10 Beltek – Par
11 Bartlett Bros. vs. Mazza – Satellite Of Love (Fabio XB Rework Dub)
12 Who.is – We.are
13 DJ Observer & Daniel Heatcliff featuring Hannah Ray – With Me (Original Vocal Mix)