Before any of you get the wrong impression, I’m posting this video up as an example of something that I DO NOT have interest in. While many people’s first reaction to this song might be, “Alright, a new Guetta track! And this one has Akon on it! I love it already!” my first thoughts were.. “Fuck, this is going to be whack.. do I even have to listen to it?” David Guetta’s work has always been hit or miss with me, and the stories that I hear about his attitude problem don’t necessarily help with his review. While I can truly appreciate the crossover efforts that Guetta and Akon are bringing to the table, I still cannot find any value in this production. The lyrics are bad and the music sounds exactly like any other Guetta song. What’s worse is that this song will probably hit US airwaves soon and will be played alongside the other Guetta produced track “I Got a Feelin” by the Black Eyed Peas. Do I want these songs to represent dance music in the US? Hell no… but what other choice do I have? The Crookers did an awesome job with Kid Cudi’s Day and Night, but Guetta is just overdoing it on this track. Yeah, I know I’m a hater. I’ll admit that sometimes I do like the tracks that Akon puts out…. but this blend of ghetto R&B and wimpy electro beats just doesn’t bode well with my ears. Akon should stick to his Konvict Muzik and Guetta should stick to being the arrogant Frenchman he is.

While I’m on the topic of crossovers, it’s interesting to note the reviews of the Black Eyed Peas’ 5th album, The E.N.D. Is the album still hiphop, or have the BEP officially crossed over into pop music? Frontman Will.I.Am. admits that the group is now targeting a wider range of audience (very smart business move) while trying to expand their sound creatively at the same time. I would label the genre as electro-pop, where catchy popular lyrics are combined with dance music beats. Hiphop enthusiasts will overwhelmingly argue that BEP have fallen out of the rap game years ago… but now is the EDM community going to welcome the Black Eyed Peas into their usually selective genre? Either way, I’m sure the BEP are happy to be where there are right now: high up in the charts and smack dab in the middle of multiple genres.