The annual Electric Daisy Carnival is fast approaching, and I can’t say I’m not excited about the lineup this year. Compared to the last two years’, this year’s is pretty stacked. Also, I’m glad the event is at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum instead of being hosted by the crappy NOS Event Center in San Bernardino. The biggest thing I have to complain about is the overcrowding. Last year’s event boasted a headcount of over 75,000 people, making it the biggest dance event in North America. This makes me wonder how many people are going to be stuffed into this year’s two-day event. At least they expanded the venue to accomodate more people (check out the map below). Another thing that bothers me are the set-times for the DJs. I’m not attending Friday’s event, but the lineup for Kinetic Field looks horrible. Why would anybody want Paul Choke-n-fold to close instead of Aly & Fila or Eddie Halliwell??  Oakenfold is notorious for being coked up all the time and trainwrecking all night long. I remember back in 2007 at EDC he wrecked so bad I had to leave the stage.  I guess kids are too fucked up to notice anyway, so they keep bringing him back. Conversely, I have also heard that he has been getting better and has cleaned up his life a little bit, but that still doesn’t warrant Insomniac’s decision to place him as a closer. Aly & Fila should DEFINITELY be closing instead of spinning at 4 in the afternoon! Saturday’s lineup is not as bad, but I will be missing many of the DJ’s I have been looking forward to (Cosmic Gate, Yoji, and Sander van Doorn) due to another engagement. On the plus side, at least I won’t miss Markus Schulz and I will get a solid 4 hours from Sander tomorrow night down here in San Diego. Anyway, even though my expectations have now been dropped due to the lack of DJ interest, I guess it should still be a good party since a lot of my friends will be in attendance.  I wish everyone who’s going a safe and fun night! =)

ArtistSchedule.eps
EDCeventMap
Check out more info here at the official website 
p.s. I will bet anybody a thousand dollars PvD will spin For An Angel (2009 remix)