Last Thursday I hit up one of the newer clubs in San Diego called Fluxx, which was hosting my favorite DJ Sander van Doorn. This was my second time seeing Sander in San Diego (both times at a club), and even though it was a Thursday night, I was ready to party. Here is my review of that night…

The Club: Formerly known as Aubergine, Fluxx is a nicely decorated,  friendly staffed venue with a killer sound system. For those of you unfamiliar with the Funktion 1 setup, it is one of the cleanest sounding systems available (my friend J told me this is because the cones in the speakers are made with paper instead of metal, and the human ear prefers this type of sound). They had one of these set up at Vanguard in Hollywood, and it was crucial for a great DJ set. The setup in Fluxx was equally as good, and it kept the music bumpin crisp and clear throughout the night. Here are some other notable aspects I liked about the club: the giant rope chandelier hanging above the dance floor, the cool organic displays all over the room, the tunnel entrance that leads to the dance floor, the cool mist they sprayed into the crowd, and the decorations along the multiple bars. The only thing I disliked about the setup was the DJ ‘booth’. The DJ had a small elevated stage which the CDJs and mixer were placed. There weren’t any crazy displays or screens around the DJ, so it was a little boring in terms of visuals. However, visual effects always take backseat to the music that is played, which leads me to the next part of my review…

The Music: When we got to the club, Cowboy Mike was opening up for Sander. He was playing the usual proggy, chill house tracks, and people were slowly filling up the dance floor. It got pretty crowded fast, but I eventually wound up in front of the stage before Sander came on. As he entered around 11:40, I could feel the vibe of the crowd escalate with excitement. Chants of ‘Sander! Sander! Sander!’ rang throughout the club as he took control of the decks. He opened up the set with a few techy house tracks which got the crowd going very nicely. He did play a lot of his own productions, including Spaceman, Bliksem, Daisy, Renegade, and Apologize. Some other tracks I remember hearing were: a newer Audible track, Marcel Wood’s remix of Escape Me, and a sweet remix of Superstring. One track that really surprised me was Bart Claessan’s Elf, which received a really good reaction from the crowd. I didn’t think that was something Sander would play, but it sounded really nice towards the end of the night (and on the F1 sound system). He closed out the night with his remix of Apologize, which is low on my list of SvD favorites, but it is a commercial crowd pleaser I guess. Overall he played a great set, and even though I was hoping for some fresh, newer tracks, Sander still threw it down with some older selections. The mixing was fast, on point, and as always… SvD quality.

The Crowd: I was pretty pleased with the attendees of this event. There was a good mix of both guys and girls, which is a nice change from the cockfest that usually frequents these type of shows. Many of the people dancing around me did recognize a lot of the songs Sander was playing, and it’s always nice when you share that big-eyed, mutual ‘THIS SONG IS SICK!’ look with the person next to you. Of course there were a lot of newbies in the crowd as well, but that’s to be expected at any event. I’m just glad that everyone around me was dancing and having a good time. I also saw a lot of good looking people that night. My guess is that because Fluxx is a new club, all the regular club hoppers showed up because it’s the new place to be. People seemed to not mind that it was a Thursday night as many girls were dressed up to the max. The staff was also very friendly and efficient, and we got onto the dance floor within 3 minutes of arriving at the club. I didn’t see any fights break out, and the bouncers seemed pretty relaxed. I even saw a few of them dancing to the music!

The entire night flew by very quickly, and before I knew it, the end of the set had arrived at 1:45am. Sander was on for a solid 2 hours, and even though I didn’t get to meet him backstage, I did get him to sign a record sleeve I brought to the club. Actually I met his tour manager, who was nice enough to get the record signed for me. His crew was very accommodating, and towards the end of the set, they even brought a birthday girl up to the stage where she got to meet Sander and dance along behind the decks. Even though I was dreading work the next morning, I had absolutely no regrets about attending the club, and we closed out the evening with some carne asada nachos from Cotixan’s. Here are some pictures and videos from the night (click on the images to enlarge them, make sure you watch the videos in HD):